Gluten free beers

Gluten free beers Image

Heathen, Heresy, and many of the beers in our Brewers Emporium range, are now labelled as Gluten Free!

These beers are not produced without gluten containing ingredients, and do use barley and often wheat too, as can be clearly seen on the ingredients list of our beers in can. However, we use an enzyme called Brewer's Clarex, which effectively reduces the gluten to below the 20ppm threshold (as tested by an off-site laboratory) required to label a product as gluten free, meaning it can be safe to drink for many of those amongst us who are sensitive to gluten. This has no effect on the taste of the beer and is not in any way detrimental to the flavour - such a clever little enzyme!

Our cans that this applies to clearly display a declaration of the beer as gluten free on the label (look for the little logo shown to the left), and this information is also visible on our website. At the moment, we have taken the decision only to place this label on our beer in can, and so you will not see it on the pump clips for our cask and keg beer. This is because, whilst our beers are produced in the same way no matter what format they're released in, we cannot guarantee that the beer is being served through a gluten free line, which may affect certain customers (some pubs and bars may well dedicate a line to GF beers however).

We're keen to ensure that our drinkers are able to be fully informed about the processes our beer undergoes before it reaches the glass – as part of this, we're also more than happy to answer any questions you may have, so please do get in touch if you think there is anything we are missing!

The vast majority of beers labelled as gluten free that you see on bars and shelves of pubs and bottle shops around the country will have been produced in a similar way to that described above (so you will still see grains such as barley clearly highlighted as allergens in our ingredients lists).

Whilst there are gluten free beers available that have been brewed with no gluten containing ingredients, these are few and far between. The reason for this is that gluten free grains generally do not hold the same characteristics as those more commonly used in brewing, and so a wider change of process and a huge amount of investment would be needed for us to be able to utilise grains such as rice and sorghum effectively on a large scale. At the moment, this isn't a direction we are in a position to take, so we have looked at other ways that we can make our beers as accessible to as many people (over the age of 18 of course!) as possible. We are aware that this isn't a one-solution-fits-all scenario, but we hope to provide sufficient information to let you, the drinker, make an informed decision about our beers, and therefore hopefully enable more of you to enjoy them!

In reponse to feedback, we also now include Brewers Clarex on the ingredients lists on our canned beers. Hopefully another way to make things nice and clear for you, our lovely consumers!


Last Updated: 5th July 2022
Author: Laura Rangeley


Paul S from Bury St Edmunds said...
Excellent gluten free options - currently loving the Salvation Breakfast Stout absolutely top drawer beers and so happy that as a gluten intolerant I can enjoy the best quality in beer - 26th November 2021 at 10:36:04 pm
Steve Critchlow from Buxton said...
Just wanted to say I've recently had some of your Brimstone American brown ale and it's the best beer I've had since being gluten free. I absolutely love it!
Rather devastated to find it isn't currently available though.
Thanks so much for producing quality individual GF beers. - 9th July 2021 at 3:10:07 pm
Phill Bamford from Cheadle Hulme said...
Hi. Thanks for this information which is much valued. Many brewers are not transparent on how beer mis made and as a gluten intolerant individual i know that I am OK with beers brewed using Clarex. Sadly, many breweries do not state whether they use Clarex so rendering their products unavailable to.Can I therefore say thanks for being so honest with your products and can I also ask a bit of a cheeky question. Do you know any other breweries that regularly use Clarex? It would just help me extend the beer products available to me.I currently useGreens, Gun, Nene Valley, Brass Castle, some Magic Rock, some Arbor and some Tiny Rebel. Thanks. - 3rd October 2020 at 11:14:27 am
Rory from Sheffield said...
Thank you so much for this clarification. I was diagnosed with Coeliac in July and have been gradually testing how far I can tolerate GF beers. Heresy cans are a staple but may try some draft at the Rising Sun soon!! - 8th September 2020 at 10:15:44 am

Add Your Comment

* required fields

About Us

A true Sheffield institution founded in 1996 and based in the heart of the Antiques Quarter, Abbeydale Brewery blends heritage and tradition with creativity and innovation.

Contact Us

Abbeydale Brewery Ltd
Unit 8,  Aizlewood Road
S8 0YX
Telephone: 0114 281 2712
Email: [email protected]


Subscribe to our mailing list and be the first to hear about upcoming events, new releases and other beery updates!

Please tick to confirm you are over 18: *

* required fields

My Account My Basket Checkout

Order Enquiry

Please fill in the form below and we will respond as quickly as we can. Alternatively, you can call us on 0114 281 2712. Our office is open 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, and there is an answerphone out of hours.


Subscribe to our mailing list and be the first to hear about upcoming events, new releases and other beery updates! We promise never to share your information and you will always have the option to unsubscribe.


Sign Up